Our environmental projects

Here at SIG, we work each and every day to improve our energy performance and to reduce our environmental impact, be it in terms of our products, services or facilities. We have fully committed ourselves to the path of sustainable development and operate primarily at a local level.

Discover our activities and our projects.

SIG supplies 100% renewable energy

Renewable energy

As an organisation that is committed to sustainable development, SIG supplies energy that is both green and local. Our many environmental projects in Geneva are also financed through our Gaz Vitale and Electricité Vitale ranges.

electricity
Couple qui court

Electricity

Our Electricité Vitale range consists of Vitale Bleu, which is a hydropower product, the Naturmade Star-certified Vitale Vert – a 100% local and environmentally friendly product generated by 805 solar power plants and hydroelectric dams, as well as two other intermediate offerings. It thus contributes towards the protection of the environment in a sustainable manner.

By choosing Electricité Vitale Vert, 60,000 Geneva customers support the production of electricity that is both made and used right here, thereby enabling SIG to invest in research and development into eco-friendly hydropower and solar energy. Several environmental and technological projects have already been completed thanks to them.

Discover Électricité Vitale Vert

gaz
Fillette faisant des bulles

Gas

With the Gaz Vitale range, SIG customers can offset all CO2 emissions resulting from their natural gas consumption through the financing of environmental projects. It allows Geneva customers to consume local biogas while contributing towards the reduction of carbon emissions in Geneva. 
Gaz Vitale Vert is composed of 10% local biogas produced from the fermentation of sludge from the Aïre wastewater treatment plant (WWTP). The remaining 90% consists of natural gas with the carbon offset via environmental projects in Geneva.

Discover Gaz Vitale Vert

SIG invests in innovative energy

Innovation

Geothermal, hydrothermal, biomass – to meet growing demand, SIG looks to innovation. Using renewable energies, Geneva’s heating and cooling is done in a way that is environmentally friendly.

SIG preserves water

Water

In Geneva, water is a resource that is both abundant and valuable. Treating wastewater and promoting the consumption of Eau de Genève is essential.

step
Step du Bois-de-Bay

Wastewater treatment plants

SIG purifies the wastewater produced throughout the entire Geneva area on an ongoing basis, as well as that from a area along the border region.

The wastewater treatment plants (WWTP) in Aïre and Bois-de-Bay eliminate any pollution found in the wastewater. Their key purpose is to conserve the water quality of the Rhône and eliminate polluted water discharges into the Allondon, a river of remarkable beauty with a variety of fauna. Thanks to the on-site SIG facilities, the endangered plant and animal species now have an environment that is more favourable for their conservation. The WWTPs have been granted the Parc Naturel certification, which is awarded to industrial sites designed in a way that protects an area’s fauna and flora. A new wastewater treatment plant was commissioned in 2015, the Chancy WWTP. It can treat the wastewater of 14,000 residents.

Find out more about wastewater treatment

water
une mère avec ses deux enfants pour la campagne Eau de Genève

Eau de Genève

Since 2009, SIG has been encouraging Geneva residents to drink Eau de Genève: in 2007, 54% of them drank it regularly, rising to 85% in 2016! This excellent tap water is up to 1,000 times more environmentally friendly than bottled water and is totally local. With 80% of it originating from Lake Geneva and 20% from Geneva’s groundwater table, it is of excellent quality while being subject to regular checks.

Find out more about Eau de Genève

SIG sorts, reuses and recovers waste

Waste

Waste is a formidable fuel that can provide electricity and heat for tens of thousands of households.

factory
Usine des Cheneviers

The Cheneviers plant

The Cheneviers facility processes the waste of nearly 500,000 residents, thousands of businesses and dozens of communes. This waste is recovered and provides electrical energy and heat remotely.

Furthermore, nearly 40% of Geneva's treated urban waste is transported by boat from the city centre, which means that the traffic equivalent of 16,000 trucks is avoided annually!

 

Find out more about the Cheneviers plant

factory
Projet des Cheneviers IV

The Cheneviers IV project

By 2023, SIG will have built a state-of-the-art plant designed to meet cantonal needs. Cheneviers IV will produce much more energy with even less waste. The future facility will contribute towards cantonal efforts in relation to the energy transition.
 

SIG's ambition: Be an exemplary company

Exemplary company

Reducing one’s impact on the environment also involves changing habits and behaviours. At SIG, all employees are involved in this. And the results speak for themselves: the head office building in Lignon is twice as energy hungry as other industrial buildings in Switzerland! 

  • icon check

    Energy management is effective

  • icon check

    Reduction of water consumption

  • icon check

    Protection of fauna and flora

  • icon check

    Reduction of paper consumption

-33 %

energy consumption due to the optimisation of the building

25 %

of the cooling requirements covered by a free-cooling system

25 %

of the heat requirements covered by the low temperature thermal recovery of the remote heating boiler

9,000

of water saved by eliminating the need for automatic watering

Unsere Umweltprojekte

Bei den SIG arbeiten wir jeden Tag für die Verbesserung unserer Energieleistungen und die Verringerung unserer Umweltauswirkungen, sowohl hinsichtlich unserer Produkte als auch hinsichtlich unserer Dienstleistungen und Anlagen. Wir setzen uns konkret für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung ein und sind hauptsächlich auf lokaler Ebene tätig.

Hier finden Sie mehr zu unseren Massnahmen und Projekten.

Die SIG liefern zu 100% erneuerbare Energien

erneuerbare Energien

Als engagierter Player in der nachhaltigen Entwicklung liefern die SIG grüne und lokale Energien. Zahlreiche Genfer Umweltprojekte werden auch dank unserer Angebote „Gaz Vitale“ und „Electricité Vitale“ finanziert.

Strom
Couple qui court

Strom

Unsere Palette Electricité Vitale besteht aus einem Hydraulikprodukt (Vitale Bleu), einem zu 100% ökologischen und lokalen Produkt aus 805 mit dem Label Naturmade Star (Vitale vert) ausgezeichneten Solaranlagen und Talsperren und zwei gemischten Angeboten. Sie trägt so nachhaltig zum Erhalt unserer Umwelt bei.

Mit der Wahl von Electricité Vitale Vert sprechen sich 60.000 Genfer für die Produktion von heimischem Strom für den Eigenbedarf aus und ermöglichen es den SIG, in Forschung und Entwicklung von Solarenergie und ökologischer Wasserkraft zu investieren. Zahlreiche Umwelt- und Technologieprojekte konnten dank dieser Verbraucher bereits umgesetzt werden.

 Electricité Vitale Vert entdecken

Gas
Fillette faisant des bulles

Gas

Mit der Palette Gaz Vitale kompensieren die SIG-Kunden den gesamten CO2-Ausstoss aus ihrem Erdgasverbrauch über die Finanzierung von Umweltprojekten. So können die Genfer lokales Biogas verbrauchen und zur Verringerung des Kohlenstoffausstosses in Genf beitragen.
Gaz Vitale Vert besteht zu 10% aus lokalem Biogas, das aus der Schlammfermentierung in der Kläranlage (STEP) von Aϊre gewonnen wird. Die restlichen 90% bestehen aus CO2-kompensiertem Erdgas aus Genfer Umweltprojekten.

GaZ Vitale Vert entdecken

Die SIG investieren in innovative Energien

Innovation

Geothermie, Hydrothermie, Biomasse: Um der wachsenden Nachfrage gerecht zu werden, setzen die SIG auf Innovation. Dank der erneuerbaren Energien erfolgt die Erwärmung und Abkühlung von Genf unter umweltfreundlichen Gesichtspunkten.

Die SIG schützen das Wasser

Wasser

Das Wasser in Genf ist eine gleichzeitig reichlich vorhandene und wertvolle Ressource. Die Verarbeitung von Brauchwasser und die Wiederverwertung des Verbrauchs an Genfer Wasser ist von grundlegender Bedeutung.

Schritt
Step du Bois-de-Bay

Brauchwasser-Kläranlagen

Die SIG gewährleisten durchgehend die Klärung aller im Genfer Territorium und einem Teil der grenzüberschreitenden Region entstandenen Abwässer.

Die Brauchwasser-Kläranlagen (STEP) von Aïre und von Bois-de-Bay beseitigen die Verschmutzungen im Brauchwasser. Ihre Aufgabe? Der Erhalt der Wasserqualität der Rhône und die Vermeidung der Einleitung von Brauchwasser in den Allondon, diesen für seine Schönheit und mannigfaltige Tierwelt berühmten Wasserlauf. Dank der SIG-Anlagen an diesem Standort haben bedrohte Tier- und Pflanzenarten ein für ihren Fortbestand günstiges Milieu gefunden. Die STEP wurden mit dem Label Parc Naturel ausgezeichnet, das Industrieanlagen verliehen wird, die so ausgerüstet sind, dass sie Tier- und Pflanzenwelt in der Umgebung schützen. Eine neue Kläranlage wurde 2015 in Betrieb genommen: Die STEP von Chancy. Diese ermöglicht die Verarbeitung des Brauchwassers von 14.000 Einwohnern.

Weitere Infos zur Abwasserklärung

Wasser
une mère avec ses deux enfants pour la campagne Eau de Genève

Genfer Wasser

Seit 2009 ermutigen die SIG die Genfer, Genfer Wasser zu trinken: 2007 zählte man 54% regelmässige Konsumenten, 2016 bereits 85%! Dieses hervorragende Leitungswasser ist bis zu 1.000 Mal umweltfreundlicher als Flaschenwasser und stammt komplett aus lokaler Produktion. Es stammt zu 80% aus dem Genfer See und zu 20% aus der phreatischen Zone des Genfer Umlands. Seine Qualität ist hervorragend und es wird regelmässigen Kontrollen unterzogen.

Weitere Infos zum Genfer Wasser

Sortierung, Recycling und Wiederverwertung von Abfällen bei den SIG

Abfällen

Abfälle sind ein hervorragender Brennstoff, der Strom und Wärme für mehrere Zehntausend Haushalte liefern kann.

Fabrik
Usine des Cheneviers

Die Müllverbrennungsanlage von Cheneviers

In der Müllverbrennungsanlage von Cheneviers wird der Abfall von rund 500.000 Einwohnern, mehreren tausend Unternehmen und mehreren Dutzend Gemeinden verarbeitet. Diese Abfälle werden wiederverwertet und liefern sowohl Strom als auch Fernwärme.

Zudem werden rund 40% der städtischen Abfälle aus Genf vom Stadtzentrum aus mit dem Schiff abtransportiert, sodass jedes Jahr 16.000 Lastwagen weniger auf den Strassen verkehren müssen!

 

Weitere Infos zur Müllverbrennungsanlage von Cheneviers

Fabrik
Projet des Cheneviers IV

Projekt Cheneviers IV

Bis 2023 werden die SIG eine Anlage der neuesten Generation errichten, die der Nachfrage des Kantons gerecht werden soll. Cheneviers IV wird dieselbe Menge Energie aus weniger Abfällen erzeugen. Die künftige Anlage wird zu den kantonalen Bestrebungen im Bereich der Energiewende beitragen.
 

Der Ehrgeiz der SIG: ein vorbildliches Unternehmen zu sein

vorbildliches Unternehmen

Die Verringerung der Umweltauswirkungen erfolgt auch über die Änderung von Gewohnheiten und Verhaltensweisen. Bei den SIG werden alle Mitarbeiter daran beteiligt. Und die Ergebnisse lassen sich sehen: Im Vergleich zu anderen schweizerischen Industrieanlagen frisst der Gesellschaftssitz, das Gebäude in Lignon, nur halb so viel Energie!

  • icon check
    Energiemanagement
  • icon check
    Wassereinsparungen
  • icon check
    Schutz der Tier- und Pflanzenwelt
  • icon check
    Verringerung des Papierverbrauchs

-33 %

Energieverbrauch aufgrund der Gebäudeoptimierung

25 %

des Kühlbedarfs werden durch ein free-cooling-System gedeckt

25 %

des Wärmebedarfs werden durch Niedertemperatur-Wärmerückgewinnung aus dem Fernwärmekessel gedeckt

9.000

Wassereinsparungen aufgrund der Abschaffung der automatischen Bewässerung