Energy transition

The energy transition is at the heart of the SIG strategy and actions in Geneva. It refers to the transition from our current mode of production and consumption to a new energy model which is more sustainable and more economical. The energy transition is essential due to an extensive number of factors, such as the depletion of natural resources and the respect for the environment.

The heart of the SIG strategy

Strategy

For several years, SIG has made the energy transition the foundation of its corporate strategy. It is necessary to act on several levels:

 

Changing our business models and organisations

 

The energy world is undergoing a total revolution. From a hyper-centralised model, it is changing towards one where there are a multitude of stakeholders of all sizes, which are all involved in an interconnected and dynamic system. The energy transition is the path towards this new world that is pluralistic, multifaceted, resolutely efficient and totally renewable. SIG is committed to making this shift in a proactive and committed way, alongside and through its customers and partners. 

 

Changing the habits of individual consumers 

 

The progressive evolution of behaviours and lifestyles both follows and drives these systemic changes. Households, municipalities and businesses experiment and invent a host of micro-revolutions that enable comfort levels to be maintained, while putting a stop to our energy and our earnings from being wasted. SIG is committed to continuing to stand by its customers, so as to encourage, support and facilitate these initiatives!

bon à savoir

Good to know

 

In Geneva, we have a strong commitment: The canton has confirmed its “General Energy Conception”, which is based upon a 2,000-watt, nuclear-free society as a long-term goal. It incorporates the objectives of the Federal Council's Energy Strategy 2050, foremost amongst which is the increase in the share of renewable energies and a reduction in consumption.
As the industrial arm of the implementation of the General Energy Conception, SIG leads or participates in all projects that are essential for the definitive implementation of our energy strategy.

Concrete actions and projects

Actions and projects

SIG plays a leading role in Geneva’s energy transition in by targeting the following areas for taking action:

  • vu
    The decrease in the consumption of all energies: electricity and fossil fuels
  • vu
    The development of solar energy
  • vu
    The development of wind energy
  • vu
    The development of thermal solutions in general and geothermal energy in particular
  • vu
    The optimal utilisation of our dams
Solar
panneaux solaires du Lignon

Solar

SIG intends to double solar production in the canton by 2023. This will be achieved by:

  • The construction of photovoltaic plants: in 10 years, solar power has increased by a factor of 10. The canton now has more than 1,200 solar plants.
  • The sale of Électricité Vitale Vert, which enables the financing and the development of new photovoltaic facilities in Geneva.
  • The promotion of your solar production: SIG encourages all Geneva residents (private, municipalities, businesses) to develop their own facilities and buys their solar energy at a competitive price.
Electricity
paysage avec eolien

Wind

Recovering wind energy to convert it into electricity has been a major challenge throughout the history of renewable energy. In fact, a single 3 MW wind turbine produces the equivalent of 2,000 households’ consumption annually, which is about the consumption of the municipality of Satigny’s population.

SIG participates in the development, construction and operation of wind farms in Switzerland when these present both energy and economic benefits, and provided that their environmental integration is optimised.

Thermal
GéniLac

Renewable thermal energy

SIG will achieve at least 50% of the Canton's renewable heat generation goals.
For this, we utilise the heat networks at a district level or larger, and decentralised renewable heat at the building or villa level.

The new heating and cooling systems that have been put in place rely either on the conversion of waste heat (Cheneviers-CADIOM, for example), or on renewable energy methods such as medium-depth geothermal energy or systems requiring a heat pump. They can also use natural gas.
 

Geothermal
camion pour la Géothermie

Geothermal

Geothermal energy is a source of local energy from the subsoil that is clean, renewable and continuously available, while having many thermal and electrical applications. There are various stages of surveys and subsoil drilling involved in its development. Knowledge of the Geneva subsoil is therefore a prerequisite. Therein lies the challenge presented by the GEothermie 2020 programme, led by the State of Geneva and implemented by Services Industriels de Genève (SIG). It is in this context that a detailed 3D mapping of the Geneva subsoil has been undertaken since 2014, revealing conditions that are particularly favourable for geothermal energy. As of 2018, this preliminary prospecting will be followed by drilling to a medium depth (over 1,000 m).

See the GEothermie 2020 program
éco21
vue panoramique jet d'eau

Eco21

For the past 10 years, SIG has been running the éco21 project, whose goal is to offer concrete solutions to individuals, municipalities and businesses for reducing their energy consumption.

Since the start of the programme, 135 GWh of electricity have been saved every year in the Canton of Geneva and, by 2025, the goal is to reach 300 GWh, which is the equivalent of the annual consumption of 100,000 households, or of the consumption of the City of Geneva’s residents.

SIG continues with this ambitious programme for saving energy and CO2 emissions by offering products and services to its customers, and by developing partnerships with local companies and even other industrial service providers.

Find out more on the Éco21 programme

Impact
Impact

IMPACT platform

IMPACT is a crowdfunding platform.
Its principle is simple: Genevans choose to invest in a project proposed by associations or companies of the canton, to promote the energy transition. They benefit from entertaining or tasty rewards!

Find out more

Die Energiewende

Die Energiewende ist Kern der Strategie und der Massnahmen der SIG in Genf. Sie bezeichnet den Übergang von unserer derzeitigen Produktions- und Verbrauchsweise zu einem neuen, nachhaltigeren und wirtschaftlicheren Energiemodell. Die Energiewende ist aufgrund einer Vielzahl an Faktoren wie Erschöpfung der natürlichen Ressourcen und Umweltschutz erforderlich geworden.

Das Kernstück der SIG-Strategie

Strategie

Seit vielen Jahren haben die SIG die Energiewende zur Grundlage ihrer Unternehmensstrategie gemacht. Es muss auf verschiedenen Ebenen gehandelt werden: 

 

Änderung unserer Geschäfts- und Organisationsmodelle

 

Die Welt der Energien steckt mitten im Umbruch. Statt dem ehemaligen überzentralisierten Modell gibt es heute eine Vielzahl an Akteuren aller Grössen, die alle in einem vernetzten und dynamischen System agieren. Die Energiewende stellt den Weg in diese neue pluralistische, verschiedenartige, entschlossen effiziente und gänzlich erneuerbare Welt dar. Die SIG setzen darauf, diese Wende freiwillig und engagiert zu vollziehen, gemeinsam mit ihren Kunden und Partnern und mit deren Hilfe. 

 

Änderung der städtischen Verbrauchergewohnheiten 

 

Der stetige Wandel der Verhaltensweisen und der Lebensart folgt auf diese systemischen Umwälzungen und begleitet sie. Haushalte, Gemeinde und Unternehmen erleben und erfinden eine Unmenge an Mikrorevolutionen, mit denen wir unseren Komfort erhalten können, aber nicht mehr unsere Energien und unser Einkommen verschwenden müssen. Die SIG verpflichten sich, ihren Kunden weiterhin zur Seite zu stehen, um diese Initiativen zu fördern, zu unterstützen und zu ermöglichen!

bon à savoir

Gut zu wissen

 

In Genf kommt uns ein starkes Engagement zugute: Der Kanton hat sein allgemeines Energiekonzept genehmigt, das sich auf eine Gesellschaft mit 2000 Watt ohne Atomstrom als langfristiges Ziel stützt. Darin enthalten sind die Ziele der Energiestrategie 2050 des Bundesrats, an erster Stelle der Anstieg des Anteils an erneuerbaren Energien und die Senkung des Verbrauchs.
Als industrieller Arm der Umsetzung dieses allgemeinen Energiekonzepts leiten die SIG alle unerlässlichen Projekte für die konkrete Umsetzung unserer Energiestrategie oder beteiligen sich an ihnen.

Konkrete Massnahmen und Projekte

Massnahmen und Projekte

Die SIG sind die treibende Kraft in der Energiewende in Genf und setzen an folgenden Hebeln an:  

  • vu
    Verringerung des Verbrauchs aller Energien: Strom und fossile Brennstoffe
  • vu
    Weiterentwicklung der Solarenergie
  • vu
    Weiterentwicklung der Windenergie
  • vu
    Weiterentwicklung der thermischen Lösungen im allgemeinen und der Geothermie im besonderen
  • vu
    Optimale Nutzung unserer Talsperren
Solar
panneaux solaires du Lignon

Solarenergie

Die SIG wollen die Solarproduktion im Kanton bis 2023 verdoppeln. Dies geschieht über:

  • Den Bau von Photovoltaikanlagen: die Solarkraft wurde in 10 Jahren verzehnfacht. Der Kanton zählt heute über 1200 Solaranlagen
  • Den Verkauf des Ökostroms Electricité Vitale Vert, mit dem die Finanzierung und die Entwicklung neuer Photovoltaikanlagen in Genf ermöglicht wird,
  • Die Aufwertung unserer Solarproduktion: Die SIG ermutigen alle Bewohner von Genf (Privatpersonen, Gemeinden, Unternehmen), ihrer Anlagen weiterzuentwickeln, und kaufen ihre Solarenergie zu einem günstigen Preis auf
strom
paysage avec eolien

Windenergie

Die Nutzung der Windenergie, um sie in Strom umzuwandeln, stellt eine grosse Herausforderung in der Geschichte der erneuerbaren Energien dar. Ein einziges Windkraftwerk mit 3 MW produziert jedes Jahr den Gegenwert für den Verbrauch von 2000 Haushalten, was etwa dem Verbrauch der Bevölkerung von Satigny entspricht. 

Die SIG beteiligen sich an Entwicklung, Bau und Nutzung von Windparks in der Schweiz, wenn diese von energetischem und wirtschaftlichem Nutzen sind und sofern ihre Umweltintegration optimiert wurde.

thermisch
GéniLac

Erneuerbare thermische Energie

Die SIG werden mindestens 50% der Ziele des Kantons hinsichtlich der Erzeugung von erneuerbarer Wärme erfüllen.
Dafür arbeiten wir gleichzeitig an den thermischen Netzen (auf der Ebene eines oder mehrerer Stadtviertel) und an den dezentralisierten erneuerbaren Energien (auf der Ebene von Mehr- und Einfamilienhäusern).

Die eingesetzten neuen Wärme- und Kältesysteme stützen sich entweder auf die Wiederverwertung von Abwärme (z.B. Cheneviers-CADIOM) oder auf erneuerbare Energieträger wie Geothermie in durchschnittlicher Tiefe oder Systeme, die eine Wärmepumpe erforderlich machen. Dabei kann auch auf Erdgas zurückgegriffen werden.
 

thermisch
camion pour la Géothermie

Geothermie

Die Geothermie, eine unterirdische Energie, ist eine lokale, saubere, erneuerbare und stetig verfügbare Energiequelle, die zahlreiche thermische und elektrische Anwendungen ermöglicht. Ihre Förderung erfolgt über die Schritte der Sondierung und der Bohrung des Untergrunds. Die Kenntnis des Genfer Untergrunds ist daher eine Grundvoraussetzung. Darin liegt die ganze Herausforderung des Programms GEothermie 2020, das vom Staat Genf geleitet und von den Services industriels de Genève (SIG) umgesetzt wird. In diesem Rahmen wird seit 2014 eine detaillierte 3D-Kartographie des Genfer Untergrunds durchgeführt, die die für Geothermie besonders günstigen Bedingungen aufzeigt. Diese vorläufige Erkundung wird ab 2018 durch Bohrungen in mittlerer Tiefe (über 1000 m) fortgesetzt.

Siehe das Programm
eco21
vue panoramique jet d'eau

éco21

Die SIG leiten seit 10 Jahren das Projekt éco21 mit dem Ziel, Privatpersonen, Gemeinden und Unternehmen konkrete Lösungen anbieten zu können, um ihren Energieverbrauch zu senken.

Seit dem Start des Programms werden im Kanton Genf jährlich 135 GWh eingespart. Das Ziel ist es, bis 2025 Einsparungen in Höhe von 300 GWh zu erreichen (dies entspricht dem Jahresverbrauch von 100.000 Haushalten oder dem Verbrauch der Einwohner der Stadt Genf).

Die SIG setzen dieses ehrgeizige Programm zur Energieeinsparung und zur Senkung des CO2-Ausstosses fort, indem sie ihren Kunden Produkte und Dienstleistungen anbieten und Partnerschaften mit lokalen Unternehmen und anderen Stromversorgern eingehen.

Entdecken das Programm Eco21

Impact
Impact

IMPACT-Plattform

IMPACT ist eine interaktive Finanzierungsplattform.
Ihr Prinzip ist einfach: Die Genfer entscheiden sich, in ein von Verbänden oder Unternehmen des Kantons vorgeschlagenes Projekt zugunsten der Energiewende zu investieren. Dafür erhalten sie spielerische oder geschmackvolle Gegenleistungen!

Entdecken