Quartier Libre,
a cultural venue in the heart of Geneva

This iconic Geneva building on the Pont de la Machine has borne witness to the early industrialisation of the city and is the oldest of the Geneva industrial works on the Rhone in urban areas. It regulated the level of the river for a long time, prior to Seujet plant taking over. Now completely transformed, the building hosts Quartier Libre SIG.

Quartier Libre, the SIG exhibition space


Quartier Libre is a space dedicated to culture, with diverse, interactive and educational exhibitions on:

  • vu

    The environment

  • vu

    Heritage

  • vu

    Humanitarian topics

  • vu

    Visual arts

The featured exhibitions reflect SIG's commitments with respect to the promotion of heritage, accessibility to culture, and awareness of the challenges facing society.

Ongoing exhibition

Exhibition
Photo de l'exposition

The Underground of Geneva

Description

 

Underground construction has been performed for many years: either to lay the foundations for constructions and the sanitation of buildings or for the purpose of storing, hiding, protecting and burying. Since the early ages, mankind has worked underground to extract raw materials and draw water. More recently, with the development of human activity and its mobility, the underground world has become an invaluable resource for transport, the distribution of fluids and to compensate for the increasing scarcity of surface areas.

Metamorphosed into a vaulted labyrinth, the SIG Quartier Libre exhibition space features more than 60 sites and activities developed in the Geneva underground. A favourite subject for SIG, whose mission and projects are mainly performed in underground or underwater environments.

Practical information

 

From 2 November 2018 to 22 April 2019
Monday - Friday, from 9am to 5pm
Saturday - Sunday, from 10am to 5pm


Quartier Libre SIG
Pont de la Machine 1
1204 Geneva

Timeline of the exhibitions

Timeline

Tenez-vous informés de nos actualités et expositions


Logo Facebook

Useful information

Useful information

Visiting hours


Monday to Friday, from 9 am to 5 pm.
Saturday and Sunday, from 10 am to 5 pm.
Open only during the exhibitions.

 

Pricing

 

Free admission
 

Contact

 

+41 (0) 22 420 75 75

Where to find us

Find us

Quartier Libre, ein Ort der Kultur
im Herzen von Genf

Die symbolträchtige Maschinenbrücke von Genf ist ein wichtiger Zeuge der Anfänge der Industrialisierung der Stadt und ist eines der ältesten Genfer Bauwerke auf der Rhône in städtischer Umgebung. Sie hat lange Zeit den Wasserstand des Flusses reguliert, bevor die Anlage von Le Seujet die Aufgabe übernahm. Nach seiner kompletten Umwandlung beherbergt das Gebäude heute das Quartier Libre SIG.

Quartier Libre, ein Ausstellungsort der SIG


Quartier Libre ist ein der Kultur gewidmeter Ort mit vielseitigen, interaktiven und pädagogischen Ausstellungen zu: 

  • vu

    Umwelt

  • vu

    Naturschutz

  • vu

    Menschheit

  • vu

    Visuelle Künste

Die gezeigten Ausstellungen entsprechen dem Engagement der SIG zugunsten der Erhaltung des Naturerbes, für den Zugang zur Kultur und für die Sensibilisierung für die gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen.

Laufende Ausstellung

Ausstellung
Photo de l'exposition

Das unterirdische Genf

Beschreibung

 

Seit langem schon hat man bewußt unterirdisch gebaut: sei es, um die Bauwerke zu verankern und zu sanieren, sei es um zu lagern, zu verstecken, sich zu schützen oder zur Bestattung. Seit undenklichen Zeiten hat man unter Tage gearbeitet, um Rohmaterialien und Wasser zu Tage zu fördern. In neueren Zeiten, durch die Entwicklung der menschlichen Aktivitäten und ihrer Mobilität wurde der Untergrund zu einer wertvollen Ressource für das Transportwesen, die Verteilungsnetze für Flüssigkeiten und, um dem immer weniger verfügbaren Raum auf der Oberfläche entgegenzuwirken.

Der Ausstellungsraum Quartier Libre SIG,  heute in ein Gewölbenlabyrinth umgewandelt, zeigt mehr als 60 Orte und Aktivitäten, die sich im Untergrund von Genf befinden. Eines der Lieblingsthemen der SIG, deren Mission und Arbeit sich hauptsächlich unterirdisch abspielt.

Ausstellungsrückblick

Ausstellungsrückblick

Praktische Informationen

Praktische Informationen

Öffnungszeiten für Besucher


Montags bis freitags von 9h bis 17h.
Samstags und sonntags von 10h bis 17h.
Nur während der Ausstellungen geöffnet.

 

Preise

 

Eintritt frei
 

Kontakt

 

022 420 75 75

Wo wir zu finden sind

Wo wir zu finden sind