Our environmental projects

Here at SIG, we work each and every day to improve our energy performance and to reduce our environmental impact, be it in terms of our products, services or facilities. We have fully committed ourselves to the path of sustainable development and operate primarily at a local level.

Discover our activities and our projects.

SIG supplies 100% renewable energy

Renewable energy

As an organisation that is committed to sustainable development, SIG supplies energy that is both green and local. Our many environmental projects in Geneva are also financed through our Gaz Vitale and Electricité Vitale ranges.

electricity
Couple qui court

Electricity

Our Electricité Vitale range consists of Vitale Bleu, which is a hydropower product, the Naturmade Star-certified Vitale Vert – a 100% local and environmentally friendly product generated by 805 solar power plants and hydroelectric dams, as well as two other intermediate offerings. It thus contributes towards the protection of the environment in a sustainable manner.

By choosing Electricité Vitale Vert, 60,000 Geneva customers support the production of electricity that is both made and used right here, thereby enabling SIG to invest in research and development into eco-friendly hydropower and solar energy. Several environmental and technological projects have already been completed thanks to them.

Discover Électricité Vitale Vert

gaz
Fillette faisant des bulles

Gas

With the Gaz Vitale range, SIG customers can offset all CO2 emissions resulting from their natural gas consumption through the financing of environmental projects. It allows Geneva customers to consume local biogas while contributing towards the reduction of carbon emissions in Geneva. 
Gaz Vitale Vert is composed of 10% local biogas produced from the fermentation of sludge from the Aïre wastewater treatment plant (WWTP). The remaining 90% consists of natural gas with the carbon offset via environmental projects in Geneva.

Discover Gaz Vitale Vert

SIG invests in innovative energy

Innovation

Geothermal, hydrothermal, biomass – to meet growing demand, SIG looks to innovation. Using renewable energies, Geneva’s heating and cooling is done in a way that is environmentally friendly.

SIG preserves water

Water

In Geneva, water is a resource that is both abundant and valuable. Treating wastewater and promoting the consumption of Eau de Genève is essential.

step
Step du Bois-de-Bay

Wastewater treatment plants

SIG purifies the wastewater produced throughout the entire Geneva area on an ongoing basis, as well as that from a area along the border region.

The wastewater treatment plants (WWTP) in Aïre and Bois-de-Bay eliminate any pollution found in the wastewater. Their key purpose is to conserve the water quality of the Rhône and eliminate polluted water discharges into the Allondon, a river of remarkable beauty with a variety of fauna. Thanks to the on-site SIG facilities, the endangered plant and animal species now have an environment that is more favourable for their conservation. The WWTPs have been granted the Parc Naturel certification, which is awarded to industrial sites designed in a way that protects an area’s fauna and flora. A new wastewater treatment plant was commissioned in 2015, the Chancy WWTP. It can treat the wastewater of 14,000 residents.

Find out more about wastewater treatment

water
une mère avec ses deux enfants pour la campagne Eau de Genève

Eau de Genève

Since 2009, SIG has been encouraging Geneva residents to drink Eau de Genève: in 2007, 54% of them drank it regularly, rising to 85% in 2016! This excellent tap water is up to 1,000 times more environmentally friendly than bottled water and is totally local. With 80% of it originating from Lake Geneva and 20% from Geneva’s groundwater table, it is of excellent quality while being subject to regular checks.

Find out more about Eau de Genève

SIG sorts, reuses and recovers waste

Waste

Waste is a formidable fuel that can provide electricity and heat for tens of thousands of households.

factory
Usine des Cheneviers

The Cheneviers plant

The Cheneviers facility processes the waste of nearly 500,000 residents, thousands of businesses and dozens of communes. This waste is recovered and provides electrical energy and heat remotely.

Furthermore, nearly 40% of Geneva's treated urban waste is transported by boat from the city centre, which means that the traffic equivalent of 16,000 trucks is avoided annually!

 

Find out more about the Cheneviers plant

factory
Projet des Cheneviers IV

The Cheneviers IV project

By 2023, SIG will have built a state-of-the-art plant designed to meet cantonal needs. Cheneviers IV will produce much more energy with even less waste. The future facility will contribute towards cantonal efforts in relation to the energy transition.
 

SIG's ambition: Be an exemplary company

Exemplary company

Reducing one’s impact on the environment also involves changing habits and behaviours. At SIG, all employees are involved in this. And the results speak for themselves: the head office building in Lignon is twice as energy hungry as other industrial buildings in Switzerland! 

  • icon check

    Energy management is effective

  • icon check

    Reduction of water consumption

  • icon check

    Protection of fauna and flora

  • icon check

    Reduction of paper consumption

-33 %

energy consumption due to the optimisation of the building

25 %

of the cooling requirements covered by a free-cooling system

25 %

of the heat requirements covered by the low temperature thermal recovery of the remote heating boiler

9,000

of water saved by eliminating the need for automatic watering

Nos projets environnementaux

À SIG, nous travaillons chaque jour à l’amélioration de nos performances énergétiques et à la réduction de notre impact sur l’environnement, que ce soit en matière de produits, de services ou d’installations. Nous nous engageons concrètement en faveur du développement durable et agissons principalement au niveau local.

Découvrez nos actions et nos projets.

SIG fournit des énergies 100% renouvelables

Energies renouvelables

Acteur engagé dans le développement durable, SIG fournit des énergies vertes et locales. De nombreux projets environnementaux genevois sont également financés grâce à nos gammes Gaz Vitale et Electricité Vitale.

electricité
Couple qui court

Electricité

Notre gamme Electricité Vitale est composée d’un produit hydraulique (Vitale Bleu), d’un produit 100% écologique et local provenant de 805 centrales solaires et de barrages hydrauliques labélisés Naturemade Star (Vitale Vert) et de deux offres intermédiaires. Elle contribue ainsi durablement à la préservation de l’environnement. 

En choisissant l’Electricité Vitale Vert, 60’000 Genevois favorisent la production d'une électricité faite ici pour ici et permettent à SIG d’investir dans la recherche et de développer l’énergie solaire et hydraulique écologique. De nombreux projets environnementaux et technologiques ont déjà été réalisés grâce à eux. 

Découvrir l'électricité Vitale Vert

gaz
Fillette faisant des bulles

Gaz

Avec la gamme Gaz Vitale, les clients de SIG compensent l’intégralité des émissions de CO₂ issues de leur consommation de gaz naturel grâce au financement de projets environnementaux. Elle permet aux Genevois de consommer du biogaz local et de contribuer à la réduction des émissions de carbone à Genève.  
Gaz Vitale Vert est composé de 10% de biogaz local produit à partir de la fermentation des boues de la station d’épuration (STEP) d’Aïre. Les 90% restant sont composés de gaz naturel compensé en CO₂ à travers des projets environnementaux genevois.

Découvrir le gaz Vitale Vert

SIG investit dans des énergies innovantes

Innovation

Géothermie, hydrothermie, biomasse : pour faire face à la demande croissante, SIG mise sur l’innovation. Grâce aux énergies renouvelables, chauffer et rafraîchir Genève se fait dans le respect de l’environnement. 

SIG préserve l’eau

Eau

L’eau à Genève est une ressource à la fois abondante et précieuse. Traiter les eaux usées et valoriser la consommation de l’Eau de Genève est essentiel. 

step
Step du Bois-de-Bay

Les stations d'épuration des eaux usées

SIG assure en permanence l’épuration des eaux usées produites sur l’ensemble du territoire genevois et sur une partie de la région frontalière. 

Les stations d’épuration des eaux usées (STEP) d’Aïre et du Bois-de-Bay éliminent la pollution contenue dans les eaux usées. Leur rôle ? Préserver la qualité de l’eau du Rhône et supprimer les rejets d’eaux polluées dans l’Allondon, ce cours d’eau remarquable pour sa beauté et sa faune variée. Grâce aux aménagements de SIG sur le site, des espèces végétales et animales menacées ont pu trouver un milieu favorable à leur maintien. Les STEP bénéficient du label Parc Naturel, décerné aux sites industriels aménagés de façon à préserver la faune et la flore de l’endroit. Une nouvelle station d’épuration a été mise en service en 2015 : la STEP de Chancy. Elle permet de traiter les eaux usées de 14’000 habitants. 

En savoir plus sur l’assainissement des eaux usées

eau
une mère avec ses deux enfants pour la campagne Eau de Genève

L'Eau de Genève

Depuis 2009, SIG encourage les Genevois à boire de l'Eau de Genève : en 2007, on comptait 54% de buveurs réguliers, en 2016, 85% ! Cette excellente eau du robinet est jusqu’à 1'000 fois plus écologique que les eaux en bouteille et elle est complètement locale. Provenant à 90% du lac Léman et à 10% de la nappe phréatique du genevois, elle est d’excellente qualité et fait l’objet de contrôles réguliers. 

En savoir plus sur l’Eau de Genève

SIG trie, réutilise et valorise les déchets

Déchets

Les déchets constituent un formidable combustible capable de fournir de l’électricité et de la chaleur pour des dizaines de milliers de ménages.

usine
Usine des Cheneviers

L'Usine des Cheneviers

L’usine des Cheneviers traite les déchets de près de 500’000 habitants, de milliers d’entreprises et de dizaines de communes. Ces déchets sont valorisés et fournissent de l’énergie électrique ainsi que de la chaleur à distance.

De plus, près de 40% des déchets urbains genevois traités sont acheminés par bateau depuis le centre-ville, ce qui permet d’éviter le trafic de 16’000 camions chaque année ! 

 

En savoir plus sur l’usine des Cheneviers

usine
Projet des Cheneviers IV

Le projet Cheneviers IV

À l’horizon 2023, SIG construira une usine de dernière génération, destinée à satisfaire les besoins cantonaux. Cheneviers IV produira autant d’énergie, avec moins de déchets. La future installation contribuera aux efforts cantonaux liés à la transition énergétique.
 

L’ambition de SIG : être une entreprise exemplaire

Entreprise exemplaire

Diminuer son impact sur l’environnement, ça passe aussi par des changements d’habitudes et de comportement. A SIG, tous les collaborateurs sont impliqués. Et les résultats sont là : comparé aux autres bâtiments industriels suisse, le siège social, le bâtiment du Lignon, est deux fois moins gourmand en énergie ! 

  • icon check

    Gestion énergétique efficace

  • icon check

    Économie d'eau

  • icon check

    Protection de la faune et de la flore

  • icon check

    Réduction de la consommation de papier

-33 %

d'énergie consommée grâce à l'optimisation du bâtiment

25 %

des besoins en rafraîchissement couverts par un système de free-cooling

25 %

des besoins en chaleur couverts par la récupération thermique basse température de la chaufferie du chauffage à distance

9'000

d’eau économisée grâce à la suppression de l’arrosage automatique