Energy transition

The energy transition is at the heart of the SIG strategy and actions in Geneva. It refers to the transition from our current mode of production and consumption to a new energy model which is more sustainable and more economical. The energy transition is essential due to an extensive number of factors, such as the depletion of natural resources and the respect for the environment.

The heart of the SIG strategy

Strategy

For several years, SIG has made the energy transition the foundation of its corporate strategy. It is necessary to act on several levels:

 

Changing our business models and organisations

 

The energy world is undergoing a total revolution. From a hyper-centralised model, it is changing towards one where there are a multitude of stakeholders of all sizes, which are all involved in an interconnected and dynamic system. The energy transition is the path towards this new world that is pluralistic, multifaceted, resolutely efficient and totally renewable. SIG is committed to making this shift in a proactive and committed way, alongside and through its customers and partners. 

 

Changing the habits of individual consumers 

 

The progressive evolution of behaviours and lifestyles both follows and drives these systemic changes. Households, municipalities and businesses experiment and invent a host of micro-revolutions that enable comfort levels to be maintained, while putting a stop to our energy and our earnings from being wasted. SIG is committed to continuing to stand by its customers, so as to encourage, support and facilitate these initiatives!

bon à savoir

Good to know

 

In Geneva, we have a strong commitment: The canton has confirmed its “General Energy Conception”, which is based upon a 2,000-watt, nuclear-free society as a long-term goal. It incorporates the objectives of the Federal Council's Energy Strategy 2050, foremost amongst which is the increase in the share of renewable energies and a reduction in consumption.
As the industrial arm of the implementation of the General Energy Conception, SIG leads or participates in all projects that are essential for the definitive implementation of our energy strategy.

Concrete actions and projects

Actions and projects

SIG plays a leading role in Geneva’s energy transition in by targeting the following areas for taking action:

  • vu
    The decrease in the consumption of all energies: electricity and fossil fuels
  • vu
    The development of solar energy
  • vu
    The development of wind energy
  • vu
    The development of thermal solutions in general and geothermal energy in particular
  • vu
    The optimal utilisation of our dams
Solar
panneaux solaires du Lignon

Solar

SIG intends to double solar production in the canton by 2023. This will be achieved by:

  • The construction of photovoltaic plants: in 10 years, solar power has increased by a factor of 10. The canton now has more than 1,200 solar plants.
  • The sale of Électricité Vitale Vert, which enables the financing and the development of new photovoltaic facilities in Geneva.
  • The promotion of your solar production: SIG encourages all Geneva residents (private, municipalities, businesses) to develop their own facilities and buys their solar energy at a competitive price.
Electricity
paysage avec eolien

Wind

Recovering wind energy to convert it into electricity has been a major challenge throughout the history of renewable energy. In fact, a single 3 MW wind turbine produces the equivalent of 2,000 households’ consumption annually, which is about the consumption of the municipality of Satigny’s population.

SIG participates in the development, construction and operation of wind farms in Switzerland when these present both energy and economic benefits, and provided that their environmental integration is optimised.

Thermal
GéniLac

Renewable thermal energy

SIG will achieve at least 50% of the Canton's renewable heat generation goals.
For this, we utilise the heat networks at a district level or larger, and decentralised renewable heat at the building or villa level.

The new heating and cooling systems that have been put in place rely either on the conversion of waste heat (Cheneviers-CADIOM, for example), or on renewable energy methods such as medium-depth geothermal energy or systems requiring a heat pump. They can also use natural gas.
 

Geothermal
camion pour la Géothermie

Geothermal

Geothermal energy is a source of local energy from the subsoil that is clean, renewable and continuously available, while having many thermal and electrical applications. There are various stages of surveys and subsoil drilling involved in its development. Knowledge of the Geneva subsoil is therefore a prerequisite. Therein lies the challenge presented by the GEothermie 2020 programme, led by the State of Geneva and implemented by Services Industriels de Genève (SIG). It is in this context that a detailed 3D mapping of the Geneva subsoil has been undertaken since 2014, revealing conditions that are particularly favourable for geothermal energy. As of 2018, this preliminary prospecting will be followed by drilling to a medium depth (over 1,000 m).

See the GEothermie 2020 program
éco21
vue panoramique jet d'eau

Eco21

For the past 10 years, SIG has been running the éco21 project, whose goal is to offer concrete solutions to individuals, municipalities and businesses for reducing their energy consumption.

Since the start of the programme, 135 GWh of electricity have been saved every year in the Canton of Geneva and, by 2025, the goal is to reach 300 GWh, which is the equivalent of the annual consumption of 100,000 households, or of the consumption of the City of Geneva’s residents.

SIG continues with this ambitious programme for saving energy and CO2 emissions by offering products and services to its customers, and by developing partnerships with local companies and even other industrial service providers.

Find out more on the Éco21 programme

Impact
Impact

IMPACT platform

IMPACT is a crowdfunding platform.
Its principle is simple: Genevans choose to invest in a project proposed by associations or companies of the canton, to promote the energy transition. They benefit from entertaining or tasty rewards!

Find out more

Transition énergétique

La transition énergétique est au coeur de la stratégie et des actions de SIG à Genève. Elle désigne le passage de notre mode actuel de production et de consommation à un nouveau modèle énergétique plus durable et plus économique. La transition énergétique est rendue nécessaire par un grand nombre de facteurs tels que l’épuisement des ressources naturelles et le respect de l’environnement.

Le cœur de la stratégie SIG

Stratégie

Depuis plusieurs années, SIG a fait de la transition énergétique le fondement de sa stratégie d’entreprise. Il convient d’agir à plusieurs niveaux : 

 

Modification de nos modèles d’affaires et de nos organisations

 

Le monde des énergies est en pleine révolution. D’un modèle hyper-centralisé, il mute vers une multitude d’acteurs de toutes tailles intervenant tous dans un système interconnecté et dynamique. La transition énergétique constitue le chemin vers ce nouveau monde pluriel, multiforme, résolument efficient et totalement renouvelable. SIG a fait le pari de prendre ce virage de manière volontariste et engagée, aux côtés et grâce à ses clients et à ses partenaires. 

 

Modification des habitudes des consommateurs citoyens 

 

La progressive évolution des comportements et des styles de vie suit et accompagne ces évolutions systémiques. Ménages, communes, entreprises expérimentent et inventent une foule de micro-révolutions qui permettent de conserver notre confort tout en cessant de gaspiller nos énergies et nos revenus. SIG prend l’engagement de continuer à être aux côtés de ses clients pour encourager ces initiatives, les soutenir et les faciliter !

bon à savoir

Bon à savoir

 

À Genève nous bénéficions d’un engagement fort : le canton a validé sa conception générale de l’énergie (CGE 2013) qui s’appuie sur la société à 2'000 watts sans nucléaire en tant qu’objectif à long terme. Elle intègre les objectifs de la stratégie énergétique 2050 du Conseil fédéral, au premier rang desquels figurent l’accroissement de la part des énergies renouvelables et la baisse de la consommation.
Bras industriel de la mise en œuvre de cette conception générale de l’énergie, SIG mène ou participe à tous les projets indispensables à la mise en œuvre concrète de notre stratégie énergétique.

Des actions et des projets concrets

Actions et projets

SIG joue un rôle moteur dans la transition énergétique à Genève en agissant sur les leviers suivants : 

  • vu

    La diminution de la consommation de toutes les énergies : électricité et énergies fossiles

  • vu

    Le développement de l’énergie solaire

  • vu

    Le développement de l’énergie éolienne 

  • vu

    Le développement des solutions thermiques en général et de la géothermie en particulier

  • vu

    L’exploitation optimale de nos barrages

solaire
panneaux solaires du Lignon

Solaire

SIG entend doubler la production solaire sur le canton à l’horizon 2023. Cela passe par :

  • La construction de centrales photovoltaïques : la puissance solaire a été multipliée par 10 en 10 ans. Le canton compte aujourd’hui plus de 1200 centrales solaires
  • La vente d’Electricité Vitale Vert, qui permet le financement et le développement de nouvelles installations photovoltaïques à Genève.
  • La valorisation de votre production solaire : SIG encourage tous les habitants de Genève (privés, communes, entreprises) à développer leurs installations et rachète leur énergie solaire à un prix avantageux.
électricité
paysage avec eolien

Eolien

Récupérer l’énergie du vent pour la convertir en électricité constitue un enjeu majeur dans l’histoire des énergies renouvelables. Une seule éolienne de 3 MW produit en effet chaque année l’équivalent de la consommation de 2000 ménages, soit environ la consommation de la population de Satigny. 

SIG participe au développement, à la construction et à l’exploitation de parcs éoliens en Suisse lorsque ceux-ci présentent un intérêt à la fois énergétique et économique, et pour autant que leur intégration environnementale soit optimisée.

thermique
GéniLac

Thermique renouvelable

SIG réalisera au moins 50% des objectifs du Canton en matière de production de chaleur renouvelable. 
Pour cela, nous intervenons à la fois sur les réseaux thermiques (au niveau d’un quartier ou plus) et sur la thermique renouvelable décentralisée (au niveau d’immeubles ou de villas). 

Les nouveaux systèmes de chaleur et de froid mis en place s’appuient soit sur la valorisation des rejets de chaleurs (Cheneviers-CADIOM, par exemple), soit sur des agents énergétiques renouvelables comme la géothermie de moyenne profondeur ou des systèmes nécessitant une pompe à chaleur. Ils peuvent également recourir au gaz naturel.
 

thermique
camion pour la Géothermie

Géothermie

La géothermie, énergie du sous-sol, est une source d'énergie locale, propre, renouvelable, disponible en continu et permettant de nombreuses applications thermiques et électriques. Son développement passe par des étapes de sondage et forage des sous-sols. La connaissance du sous-sol genevois est donc un préalable. C'est là tout l'enjeu du programme GEothermie 2020, piloté par l'Etat de Genève et mis en œuvre par les Services industriels de Genève (SIG). Dans ce cadre, une cartographie 3D détaillée du sous-sol genevois a été effectuée depuis 2014, révélant des conditions particulièrement favorables à la géothermie. Cette prospection préliminaire sera suivie, dès 2018, par la réalisation de forages à moyenne profondeur (plus de 1000 m).

Voir le programme GEothermie 2020
éco21
vue panoramique jet d'eau

éco21

SIG mène depuis 10 ans le projet éco21 dont le but est d’offrir des solutions concrètes aux particuliers, aux communes et aux professionnels pour réduire leur consommation d’énergie.

Depuis le début du programme, 155 GWh d’électricité sont économisés chaque année sur le canton de Genève. L’objectif, à l’horizon 2025, est d’atteindre 300 GWh (l’équivalent de la consommation annuelle de 100’000 ménages, soit l’équivalent de la consommation des habitants de la Ville de Genève).

SIG poursuit ce programme ambitieux d’économies d’énergie et d’émissions de CO₂ en proposant des produits et services à ses clients et en développant des partenariats avec des entreprises locales voire d’autres services industriels.

En savoir plus sur le programme éco21

Impact
Impact

Plateforme IMPACT

IMPACT est une plateforme de financement participatif.
Son principe est simple : les Genevois choisissent d’investir dans un projet proposé par des associations ou des entreprises du canton en faveur de la transition énergétique. Ils bénéficient de contreparties ludiques ou savoureuses !

Découvrir IMPACT