Quartier Libre,
a cultural venue in the heart of Geneva

This iconic Geneva building on the Pont de la Machine has borne witness to the early industrialisation of the city and is the oldest of the Geneva industrial works on the Rhone in urban areas. It regulated the level of the river for a long time, prior to Seujet plant taking over. Now completely transformed, the building hosts Quartier Libre SIG.

Quartier Libre, the SIG exhibition space


Quartier Libre is a space dedicated to culture, with diverse, interactive and educational exhibitions on:

  • vu

    The environment

  • vu

    Heritage

  • vu

    Humanitarian topics

  • vu

    Visual arts

The featured exhibitions reflect SIG's commitments with respect to the promotion of heritage, accessibility to culture, and awareness of the challenges facing society.

Ongoing exhibition

Exhibition
Photo de l'exposition

Jean Tinguely and Niki de Saint Phalle - Posters

Description

 

SIG presents "Jean Tinguely and Niki de Saint Phalle - Posters", from March 28 to September 16, 2018, at the pont de la Machine. This exhibition invites the public to view posters reflecting the vast creative scope of each artist, as well as posters resulting from their joint artistic works. Based on a scenography articulated in two stages, from March to June, the visitor views the posters of Jean Tinguely and subsequently, from June to September, those of Niki de Saint Phalle. A multi-coloured and joyful exhibition, highlighting an exceptional artistic duo with unique styles.

By way of this exhibition, SIG strives to share the genius of two great artists, combining technique, aesthetics, innovation, as well as audacious styles. It is an opportunity to pay tribute to the Swiss artist, Jean Tinguely, as well as to his passion for mechanics and the use of recycled materials in his audacious works of art.

Timeline of the exhibitions

Timeline

Useful information

Useful information

Visiting hours


Monday to Friday, from 9 am to 5 pm.
Saturday and Sunday, from 10 am to 5 pm.
Open only during the exhibitions.

 

Pricing

 

Free admission
 

Contact

 

+41 (0) 22 420 75 75

Where to find us

Find us

Un lieu culturel au cœur
de Genève

Figure emblématique de Genève, le bâtiment du pont de la Machine est un témoin important des débuts de l’industrialisation de la cité et constitue le plus ancien des ouvrages genevois sur le Rhône en milieu urbain. Il a longtemps régulé le niveau du fleuve avant que l’usine du Seujet ne prenne le relais. Complètement transformé, le bâtiment abrite aujourd’hui Quartier Libre SIG.

Quartier Libre, espace d’exposition SIG


Quartier Libre est un espace dédié à la culture, avec des expositions diversifiées, interactives et pédagogiques sur : 

  • vu

    L’environnement

  • vu

    Le patrimoine

  • vu

    L’humanitaire

  • vu

    Les arts visuels 

Les expositions présentées répondent aux engagements de SIG en faveur de la valorisation du patrimoine, l’accessibilité à la culture et la sensibilisation aux enjeux de la société.

Exposition en cours

Exposition
Photo de l'exposition

Jean Tinguely et Niki de Saint Phalle - Les affiches

Description

 

SIG présente « Jean Tinguely et Niki de Saint Phalle - Les affiches », du 28 mars au 16 septembre 2018 au pont de la Machine. Cette exposition invite le public à découvrir des affiches qui témoignent du vaste terrain de créations de chacun des deux artistes, ainsi que des affiches résultant de leur collaboration. A travers une scénographie articulée en deux temps, le visiteur découvre de mars à juin, les affiches de Jean Tinguely puis, de juin à septembre, celles de Niki de Saint Phalle. Une exposition multicolore et joyeuse pour mettre en avant un couple d’exception aux styles singuliers.

Avec cette exposition, SIG souhaite partager le génie de deux grands artistes, alliant technique, esthétisme, innovation et audace. Une occasion de mettre à l’honneur l'artiste suisse, Jean Tinguely, sa passion pour la mécanique et l’utilisation de matériaux recyclés pour ses œuvres audacieuses.

Historique des expositions

Historique

Les visites en pratiques

Informations pratiques

Horaires des visites


Lundi au vendredi de 9h à 17h.
Samedi et dimanche de 10h à 17h.
Ouverture uniquement durant les expositions.

 

Tarif

 

Entrée gratuite
 

Contact

 

022 420 75 75

Où nous trouver ?

Nous trouver