Chancy-Pougny Dam

Built at the base to supply metallurgical factories, the Chancy-Pougny power station now supplies Geneva with electricity. It was awarded the Naturemade Star certification in 2015, with this guaranteeing that the source of the energy and the quality of its production is in accordance with the most demanding criteria in Europe.

This allows for it to supply the Electricité Vitale Vert offering.

 

This site is not accessible to visitors. 

 

History

History

The construction of the Chancy-Pougny power plant began in 1920. Located on the French-Swiss Rhône, it initially supplied the French metallurgical factories at Le Creusot. From 1958, Geneva began to receive electricity produced by this plant.
 

The plant is operated by Société des Forces Motrices de Chancy-Pougny, in which SIG and Compagnie Nationale du Rhône are shareholders.

This is a run-of-the-river dam, whereby there is an insufficient volume of water in the reservoir, and so storing it is not possibleUnlike accumulation power plants, run-of-the-river plants have little or no storage capacity. They cannot store up their energy, which must be consumed directly. ?. It benefits from changes in the flow resulting from the Seujet Dam for Verbois.

bon à savoir

Interesting info
 

Since 2014, the dam has undergone major upgrades. At the end of 2014, four generator units were upgraded (replaced with "Kaplan" turbines). The fifth unit will only be partially upgraded, with this operation scheduled for 2017-2018.
 

The main objective of this work is to increase the plant’s design flow and thus achieve an annual production of 250 GWh, or 8.3% of the Canton of Geneva’s consumption.

Key figures

Key figures

5

Hydroelectric generators

1

Fish passage enabling fish to migrate upstream by bypassing the obstacle represented by the plant

230 GWh

produced annually

7,6%

of the Canton of Geneva's consumption is produced here

Le barrage de Chancy-Pougny

Construite à la base pour approvisionner des usines métallurgiques, la centrale de Chancy-Pougny fournit désormais Genève en électricité. Elle a reçu la certification naturemade star en 2015, un label qui garantit la provenance de l’énergie et la qualité de sa production selon les critères les plus exigeants d’Europe.

Ceci lui permet aujourd’hui d’alimenter le produit Electricité Vitale Vert.

 

Ce site n'est pas ouvert aux visiteurs. 

 

Histoire

Histoire

La construction de la centrale de Chancy-Pougny commence en 1920. Située sur le Rhône franco-suisse, elle alimente dans un premier temps les usines métallurgiques française du Creusot. C’est à partir de 1958 que Genève reçoit de l’électricité produite par cette usine. 
 

La centrale est exploitée par la Société des Forces Motrices de Chancy-Pougny, dont SIG et la Compagnie Nationale du Rhône sont actionnaires. 

Il s’agit d’un barrage au fil de l’eau : le volume de la retenue étant trop faible, aucun stockage n’est possibleContrairement aux centrales à accumulation, les centrales au fil de l’eau ont peu ou pas de capacité de stockage. Elles ne peuvent emmagasiner leur énergie, qui doit donc être consommée directement. ?. Il bénéficie des modulations de débit effectuées par le barrage du Seujet pour Verbois.

bon à savoir

Bon à savoir
 

Depuis 2014, le barrage connait d’importantes rénovations : fin 2014, quatre groupes de production étaient rénovés (remplacement par des turbines « Kaplan »). Le cinquième groupe ne sera que partiellement rénové, l’intervention est prévue en 2017-2018. 
 

Ces travaux ont pour objectif principal d’augmenter le débit d’équipement de l’usine et d’atteindre ainsi une production annuelle de 250 GWh, soit 8.3 % de la consommation du canton de Genève.   

Chiffres clés

Chiffres clés

5

hydroelectric generators

1

fish passage to enable fish to migrate upstream by bypassing the obstacle that is the plant

230 GWh

produced annually

7,6%

of the Canton of Geneva’s consumption produced here