New plant Cheneviers IV

A new waste treatment and recovery plant, rescaled to meet the needs of the Canton of Geneva, will be built by 2023.
More modern and more environmentally-friendly, Cheneviers IV will produce more energy with less waste.

In images

In images

Cheneviers IV will meet the ambitious targets of the cantonal waste reduction strategy. The canton will be required to sort more thoroughly from the present 210,000 tonnes of waste, to fit the plant's capacity of 160,000 tonnes by 2023.

SIG and the Tribune de Genève have elaborated a brochure dedicated to this century's project. It was published on 17 November 2018 to provide an update on this major project.
Download the brochure

The project

The project

Constructed in 1993 and operated since 2001 by SIG, Cheneviers III, the current plant, is oversized and its ageing facilities have reached their technological limits. The plant was designed to process 400,000 tonnes of waste per year, with waste incineration being a priority in Geneva. Subsequently, sorting and recycling developed. The canton and SIG also strive to meet the challenge of a sustainable and high-quality environmental future, thanks to optimal waste treatment and recovery technology: waste production should not exceed 160,000 tonnes per year by 2025.
 

The Cheneviers IV project consists of the construction of a new plant on the same site as the previous one, while remaining operational during the construction works, which began in January 2018 and will be performed in three stages. The first stage, to be concluded by 2020, consists of preparatory work. The second stage, to be concluded by 2023, provides for the construction of the new plant, and finally, the demolition of Cheneviers III is planned during the third stage, by the end of 2025.
 

The annual waste treatment capacity of Cheneviers IV will be 160,000 tons. The population of Geneva will be required to increase their waste sorting. SIG is thus pursuing its public service mission to preserve and guarantee a healthy and sustainable environment for the population of the Canton of Geneva.
 

CONSULT THE SIG PRESS RELEASE DATED 2 OCTOBER 2018, ON THE LAYING OF THE FOUNDATION STONE OF CHENEVIERS IV

CONSULT THE PRESS RELEASE DATED 16 JUNE 2016, ON THE 50th ANNIVERSARY OF THE CHENEVIERS.

LEARN MORE ABOUT THE CURRENT CHENEVIERS PLANT

Nouvelle usine Cheneviers IV

Une nouvelle usine de traitement et de valorisation des déchets, redimensionnée aux besoins du canton de Genève, verra le jour à l’horizon 2023.
Plus moderne et plus respectueuse de l’environnement, Cheneviers IV produira plus d’énergie avec moins de déchets.

En images

En images

Cheneviers IV répondra aux objectifs ambitieux de la stratégie cantonale en matière de réduction des déchets. De 210'000 tonnes de déchets aujourd’hui, le canton devra trier plus pour s'adapter à la capacité de l'usine de 160'000 tonnes à l’horizon 2023.

SIG et la Tribune de Genève ont réalisé un supplément consacré à ce chantier du siècle. Il a été publié le 17 novembre 2018 pour faire le point sur ce projet d’envergure.
Télécharger le supplément TDG

Le projet

Le projet

Construite en 1993 et exploitée depuis 2001 par SIG, Cheneviers III l’usine actuelle est surdimensionnée et ses installations, vieillissantes, ont atteint leurs limites technologiques. L’usine a en effet été conçue pour traiter 400'000 tonnes de déchets par an, l’incinération des déchets étant alors une priorité à Genève. Depuis, le tri et le recyclage se sont développés. Le canton et SIG souhaitent par ailleurs relever le pari d'un avenir environnemental durable et de qualité, grâce à une technologie optimale de traitement et de valorisation des déchets : la production des déchets ne devra pas dépasser 160'000 tonnes par an d’ici 2025.
 

Le projet Cheneviers IV consiste à construire une nouvelle usine sur le même site que la précédente tout en maintenant l’exploitation durant les travaux.Ces derniers, ont débuté en janvier 2018 et seront réalisés en trois étapes. La première étape, jusqu’en 2020, consiste en travaux préparatoires. La deuxième étape jusqu’en 2023 permettra la construction de la nouvelle usine, enfin la troisième étape à fin 2025 conduira à la destruction de Cheneviers III.
 

Cheneviers IV aura une capacité de traitement annuelle des déchets de 160'000 tonnes. Il faudra que les Genevoises et les Genevois trient davantage.SIG poursuit ainsi sa mission de service public afin de préserver et garantir un environnement sain et durable à la population du canton de Genève.
 

Consulter le communiqué de presse SIG du 2 octobre 2018, pose de la première pierre de Cheneviers IV

Consulter le communiqué de presse du 16 juin 2016 sur les 50 ans des Cheneviers.

En savoir plus sur l’actuelle usine des Cheneviers